Brandon drivers rule at Devil's Bowl

JOEY SCARBOROUGH OF Brandon celebrates his Pepsi Sportsman Modified victory at Devil’s Bowl Speedway on Sunday. Photo credit: Alan Ward

DAN DESFORGES OF Brandon won the Street-Legal Spectator Races at Devil’s Bowl Speedway Sunday with a brand-new 2019 Kia Soul. Photo credit: Bill McGaffin

DAVE SNOW OF Brandon was the 10th different first-time winner in 2019 in the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman division at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. Photo credit: Alan Ward

BRANDON’S JOEY SCARBOROUGH (#11VT) and Middlebury’s Justin Comes (at right) work on Vince Quenneville of Brandon (#78) for the lead in the Pepsi Sportsman Modified feature at Devil’s Bowl Speedway Sunday evening. Scarborough won. Photo credit: Alan Ward

WEST HAVEN — Brandon drivers had a big night on Sunday at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, winning three races at the West Haven dirt track.

Joey Scarborough won the main event, a 30-lap Sportsman Modified feature; fellow Brandon resident Dave Snow earned his first career victory in the Limited Sportsman division; and a third Brandonite, Dan Desforges, came out of the stands to drive a 2019 Kia Soul to victory in the Street-Legal Spectator Race.

Scarborough led a parade of area racers to the finish in the Bowl’s Sportsman Modified feature, the evening’s top race. He took over the lead from Middlebury’s Justin Comes and another Brandon veteran, Vince Quenneville, after a restart with four laps to go. Comes and Quenneville took second and third, respectively. New York driver Kenny Tremont finished eighth to clinch the Sportsman Modified Series championship.

Snow earned his breakthrough in a 20-lap Limited Sportsman race. He led throughout and held off late challenges from second-place finisher Anthony Ryan of Benson and third-place racer Anthony Warren of Shoreham — both of them cousins — for the milestone victory. Warren remains in the hunt for the series championship.

Fair Haven’s Chris Murray continued his strong Super Stock season, winning a 20-lap event in that Division. Highgate’s Cam Gadue took second and Vergennes driver Kaleb Shepard drove to third. It was Murray’s fifth win of the season. West Rutland’s Scott Fitzgerald has clinched the Super Stock title.

Shawn Moquin won again in the Mini Stock series, prevailing in a 15-lapper. St. Albans driver Craig Kirby took second, and David Sartwell-Cornell of Highgate Springs was third. Middlebury’s Jake Barrows was fourth and is in second place in the series standings.

Rutland’s Shawn McPhee took the 15-lap Mini Sprint race, followed by Cody O’Brien of Springfield and New York driver Dakota Green. McPhee and Fletcher’s Evan Roberts, who was fourth, are dueling for the Mini Sprint crown.

Desforges and his Kia outdueled Salisbury’s Gary English in a 2012 GMC pickup in the Street-Legal final.

The winners and local drivers on Sunday at Devil’s Bowl were:

• Pepsi Sportsman Modified Feature — 30 laps: 1. Scarborough; 2. Comes; 3. Quenneville; 6. Tim LaDuc, Orwell; 12. Jimmy Ryan, Shoreham; 18. Brent Warren, Salisbury; 23. Mike Palmer, Salisbury

• O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman Feature — 20 laps: 1. Snow; 2. Ryan; 3. Warren; 4. James Hanson, Orwell; 6. Austin Comes, Middlebury; 7. Matt Bilodeau, Brandon; 9. Justin Stone, Middlebury; 10. Adam Piper, Leicester;

• Super Stock Feature — 20 laps, shortened to 17: 1. Murray; 3. Shepard; 11. Ronnie Alger, Orwell; 15. Garrett Given, Orwell.

• Mini Stock Feature — 15 laps: 1. Moquin; 4. Barrows; 6. Griff Mahoney, Brandon; 9. Scott Cowdrey, Leicester.

• Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint Feature — 15 laps: 1. McPhee; 5. Kevin Smith, Brandon; 10. Kaidin White, Monkton; 12. Troy Audet, Bridport; 13. Alyza McKeighan, Brandon.

• Street-Legal Spectator Race: 1. Desforges; 2. English, Salisbury.

Login for Subscriber Access

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Addison County Independent

58 Maple Street
Middlebury, VT 05753

Phone: 802.388.4944
Fax: 802.388.3100