Warren drives to win at Devil's Bowl again

WEST HAVEN — Anthony Warren of Shoreham came back to the Devil’s Bowl Speedway here on Sunday and won a race for the second week in a row, and two other Addison County drivers also notched victories during the evening’s racing.

Warren found himself in the right place in the rough-and-tumble O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman feature, and ended up in Victory Lane for the second week in a row. Anthony Ryan of Benson was leading and headed for his first win when contact from second-place driver Matt Bilodeau sent both cars head-on into the wall at lap 14. Warren inherited the lead just as the 20-minute time limit was enacted and a green-white-checkered finish was set up. Warren stayed out front despite a strong challenge from point leader James Hanson of Orwell. Brandon’s Dave Snow was fifth.

The title fight for the Mini Stock division changed dramatically when Middlebury’s Jake Barrows drove to his second win of the year in a 20-lap race. Craig Kirby scored his career-best finish as the runner-up, and Tim Simonds was third. Barrows’ win was good enough to take over the championship lead. Barrows, Shawn Moquin, and Kirby are now all within 18 points at the top.

Ripton, Vt.’s Chris Sumner made it a perfect two-for-two in the Enduro Series, winning the second 50-lap race of the season; Sumner also won the opener on July 3. The father-son duo of Bill and Shawn Fountain of New York state put on a good battle for the lead before Sumner got ahead just after the race’s only red flag stoppage on lap 32. Bill Fountain spun out and was eliminated from contention, but Shawn Fountain finished second. Tim Whitney of Cornwall was third, one lap behind the leaders, with Orwell’s Kenny Torrey and Whiting’s Brent Wilbur next in line, each two laps down.

Mark Norris of Benson scored a popular first win in the Super Stock division after that 20-lap race was also cut short three laps by time constraints. The victory was his first on dirt and was the first win for the former asphalt competitor since a 1997 victory at Wiscasset Speedway in his native Maine.

Sunday’s winners and local finishers were:

Pepsi Sportsman Modified Feature — (100 laps, extended to 101 laps by green-white-checkered restart): 1. Kenny Tremont Jr., West Sand Lake, N.Y.; 5. Joey Scarborough, Brandon; 7. Vince Quenneville, Brandon; 11. Jimmy Ryan, Shoreham; 12. Brent Warren, Salisbury; 21. Tim LaDuc, Orwell; 23. Mike Palmer, Salisbury; and 24. Justin Comes, Middlebury.

O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman Feature (16 laps): 1. Anthony Warren, Shoreham; 2. James Hanson, Orwell; 5. Dave Snow, Brandon; 8. Austin Comes, Middlebury; 10. Adam Piper, Leicester; and 11. Matt Bilodeau, Brandon.

Super Stock Feature (17 laps): 1. Mark Norris, Benson; 5. Kaleb Shepard, Vergennes; 11. Ronnie Alger, Orwell; and 13. Garrett Given, Orwell.

Mini Stock Feature (20 laps): 1. Jake Barrows, Middlebury; 8. Joe Malzac, Salisbury; and 9. Scott Cowdrey, Leicester.

Friend Construction 500cc Mini Sprint Feature (20 laps): 1. Evan Roberts, Fletcher; 9. Kevin Smith, Brandon; 10. Alyza McKeighan, Brandon; and 12. Kaidin White, Vergennes.

Enduro Series Feature (50 laps): 1. (19) Chris Sumner, Ripton; 3. Tim Whitney, Cornwall; 4. Kenny Torrey, Orwell; 5. Brent Wilbur, Whiting; and 7. Brian Blake, Cornwall.

Login for Subscriber Access

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Addison County Independent

58 Maple Street
Middlebury, VT 05753

Phone: 802.388.4944
Fax: 802.388.3100